An Post Irish Book Awards 2019 — The Winners


Irish writers in all genres were honoured at a gorgeous ceremony at Dublin’s Convention Centre

This year’s An Post Irish Book Awards confirmed the universally acknowledged fact that Irish literature is thriving.

Vicky Phelan, Andrea Corr and Sinéad Gleeson were among the winners.

The public can now vote for the An Post Book of the Year. It is chosen by public vote from the winners of the An Post Irish Book Awards. One voter will win €100 of National Book Tokens. You can cast your vote here.

Check out the full list of Irish Post Award Winners here:

RTÉ Radio 1 Listeners’ Choice Award

Overcoming – Vicky Phelan with Naomi Linehan (Hachette Books)

Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year

Recovering – Richie Sadlier with Dion Fanning (Gill Books)

Avoca Cookbook of the Year

Cornucopia: The Green Cookbook – Tony Keogh, Aoife Carrigy, the Chefs of Cornucopia, Deirdre and Dairine McCafferty (Gill Books)

Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year

Cruel Acts – Jane Casey (HarperFiction)

Bookselling Ireland Non-Fiction Book of the Year

Constellations – Sinéad Gleeson (Picador) Best Irish-Published Book of the Year

Children of the Troubles – Joe Duffy and Freya McClements (Hachette Books Ireland)

Love Leabhar Gaeilge Irish Language Book of the Year

Tairngreacht – Proinsias Mac a’Bhaird (LeabhairComhar)

Dept51@Eason Teen & Young Adult Book of the Year

Other Words for Smoke – Sarah Maria Griffin (Titan Books)

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year – Senior

Shooting for the Stars – My Journey to Become Ireland’s First Astronaut – Norah Patten, illustrated by Jennifer Farley (The O’Brien Press)

Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year – Junior

123 Ireland! – Aoife Dooley (Little Island Books)

Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year

When All is Said – Anne Griffin (Hodder & Stoughton)

National Book Tokens Popular Fiction Book of the Year

Once, Twice, Three Times an Aisling – Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen (Gill Books)

Listowel Writers’ Week Irish Poem of the Year

Salt Rain – Audrey Molloy (Mslexia, September 2019)

Image result for salt rain audrey molloy Short Story of the Year Award

Parrot – Nicole Flattery (The Stinging Fly, Issue 39, Volume 2, Winter 2018-19)

Ireland AM Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year

Barefoot Pilgrimage – Andrea Corr (HarperNonFiction)

Image result for barefoot pilgrimage

Eason Novel of the Year

Shadowplay – Joseph O’Connor (Harvill Secker)